Saiga Antelope

  Visit the CMS Saiga MOU website

The CMS Saiga MOU is the only international instrument for the conservation of the Critically Endangered Saiga antelope. The MOU is a legally non-binding international instrument, which has been in force since 2006 and has been signed by all five Range States.

The MOU aims to achieve and maintain a favourable conservation status for saigas based on the best available scientific information and taking into account the socio-economic value of saigas for the people of various countries.

For a short summary of the current status of the Saiga MOU, please see paragraphs 75-81 of the following document from COP11.

The MOU, together with the associated Medium-Term International Work Programme (MTIWP), provides a road map to guide the implementation of conservation action for the saiga antelope, including sustainable use and trade. The long-term vision of the Medium-Term International Work Programme under the MOU is to restore saiga populations to the point that sustainable use can again be envisioned. The overall goal is for saiga populations to show an increasing trend or that their decline is halted.

Activities under the MTIWP focus on the following objectives:

  • Improving population monitoring
  • Assessing species distribution and variation in spatial and temporal movements
  • Reducing poaching of saigas
  • Creating alternative livelihood options to poaching
  • Raising awareness (regional, national and international levels)
  • Improving the protected area network
  • Captive breeding
  • Reducing illegal trade in saiga produce
  • Assessing long-term conservation solutions


Titlesort ascending Status Status date CMS Party number Region
Uzbekistan MOU Signatory 2006 055 Asia
Turkmenistan MOU Signatory 2005 AM Asia
Russian Federation MOU Signatory 2009 AM Europe
Mongolia MOU Signatory 2010 065 Asia
Kazakhstan MOU Signatory 2006 097 Asia
Instrument nameMemorandum of Understanding concerning Conservation, Restoration and Sustainable Use of the Saiga Antelope
TypeArticle IV(4)
DepositaryCMS Secretariat
SignatureSigned by 5 States and 10 Cooperating Organizations (for details please scroll to 'others' and 'countries')
In effectImmediately following the signature by the third State; open for signature indefinitely, will become effective for each subsequent Range State on the date of signature.
Website URL
OtherSigned also by Cooperating Organizations: CMS Secretariat (23.11.05), Ministry of Nature and Environment of Mongolia (23.11.05), International Council for Game and Wildlife Conservation (23.11.05), IUCN/SSC (23.11.05), WWF International (23.11.05), Fauna and Flora International (24.09.06), Frankfurt Zoological Society (24.09.06) and Wildlife Conservation Society (24.09.06); Association for the Conservation of Biodiversity of Kazakhstan (10.09.10) and the Saiga Conservation Alliance (10.09.10)

Related content