You are here

National Geographic Deutschland

UNEP/CMS Thesis Award 2005

The first winner of the UNEP/CMS Thesis Award, chosen by the jury in July 2005, was Dr. Zeb Hogan, a scientist from the United States. He was rewarded for his work on ‘The Ecology, Genetics, and Conservation of Migratory Catfish (Pangasiidae) in the Mekong River. Dr. Carlos Rodriguez from Spain and Dr. Rodrigo Hucke-Gaete from Chile were nominated second and third laureates. Dr. Hogan was later appointed by the Conference of the Parties to the CMS Scientific Council as the expert on fish species.

07 October 2016

UNEP/CMS Thesis Award 2008

The winner of the CMS Thesis Award in 2008 was Dr Samantha Petersen of South Africa for her work entitled ‘Understanding and Mitigating Vulnerable Bycatch in southern African Trawl and Longline Fisheries’. By-catch is a major concern to CMS as it affects a number of migratory species including albatrosses and petrels, marine turtles, sharks and cetaceans.

07 October 2016